Quelus Guitar Duo

Formed by Bradford Werner and Michael Dias in 2007, this duo brings energy and elegance to the concert stage. The duo has performed duo concertos by Hetu and Vivaldi (they were featured soloists with the Sidney Classical Orchestra in 2012) as well as more intimate chamber works.

The name Quelus stems from a tradition we have of renting a cabin on a different gulf island every year along with our wives (and now the Dias children). The first cabin that we stayed at with friends was named Quelus. Always a good deal of fun and music to be had.

From formal concert halls to weddings, corporate events, and private functions, the Quelus Duo have compiled many collections of music that suit any event and are personal favorites of the performers. As well as being active members in the Quelus Guitar Duo, Michael and Bradford are also dedicated members of the Victoria Guitar Trio, a performance group just for the concert hall. Both players are also active faculty members at the Victoria Conservatory of Music where they teach private lessons, orchestras and ensembles, masterclasses, and more.



Guitar Duo Repertoire

Carlo Domeniconi (b.1947): Sonata in tre movimenti Op. 14 dedicata alla memoria di Maria Ponce

Carlos Fariñas (1934-2002): Musica para dos Guitarras

Rey Guerra (b. 1958): Los Caminos (suite) 

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): String Quartet Op. 2 No. 2 (arr. de Fossa), Symphony in D (arr. Carulli)

Wolff Heckel (ca.1515-1562): Plus Mille Regretz (Josquin de Prez) & Il bianco e dolce cigno (Jacob Arcadelt)

Jacques Hétu (1938-2010): Concerto for Two Guitars

Celso Machado (b.1953): Xaranga do Vovo, Modinha Brasileira, Imagens do Nordeste

Marc Mellits (b. 1966):  8 Etudes for 2 Guitars (1999)

Georges Migot (1891-1976): Sonata a deux Guitares

Ástor Piazzolla (1921–1992): Otono Porteño, Primavera Porteña

Manuel Ponce (1882-1948): Scherzino Mexicano

Enriquez de Valderrábano: vihuela version of Andreas Christi famulus by Cristóbal de Morales (ca.1500-1553)

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto for two mandolins in G

With the Victoria Guitar Trio

Dedications and Commissions:

Scott Godin: On Poetics* Written for the Victoria Guitar Trio

Scott Godin: Inside the Theodosian Walls* Arranged & Dedicated to the Victoria Guitar Trio

Jordan Nobles: Concentric Rings* Written for the Victoria Guitar Trio

Benton Roark: Mystic Viel* Written for the Victoria Guitar Trio

John Sherlock: Musiquita*  Written for Adrian Verdejo

RD Wraggett: The Nagual’s Dream for Guitar Trio and Tape* Written for the Victoria Guitar Trio

RD Wragget: Yesterday’s Canon* Arrangement dedicated to the Victoria Guitar Trio

Contemporary and Modern Works

John Gordon Armstrong: Flight from The Stars Within Us*

Richard D. James (Aphex Twin): Avril 14th, arr. Verdejo

Lou Harrison (1917-2003): Elegy for Harpo Marx

Jordan Nobles: Temporal Waves (arr. for trio)*

Patrick Roux (b.1962): Carnaval*

Rodney Sharman (b.1958): September*

Rodney Sharman (b.1958): Suspended Waltz* (arr. Dias)

Toru Takemitsu (1930-1996):  Bad Boy (1961)

John Weinzweig (1913-2006): Conversations for Three Guitars*

Traditional & Other Works

Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909): Bajo, Berceuse, Cordoba

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Three Fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier, BWV 882, 883, 858 (arr. Dias)

Agustín Barrios (1885-1944): Zapatadeo Caribe

Giovanni Pacoloni (1564): Renaissance Lute Trios (multiple works)

Divisions on “Tant Que Vivray” by Claudin de Sermisy (1528), Pierre Attaingnant (1529-1530), Miguel de Fuenllana (1554), and Giovanni Pacoloni (1564), arr. M. Dias

Zani de Ferranti (1801-1878): Polonaise Concertante

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992): L’Evasion

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1552-1594) arr. M. Dias “Kyrie” from Missa Papae Marcelli (1562)

Josquin des Prez (1450-1521), Cristóbal de Morales (1500-1553) arr. M. Dias: “Mille Regretz” and “Kyrie” from Missa Mille Regretz (1544) with Erik Abbink, soprano saxophone

Maximo Pujol (b.1957): Tangondo

Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741): Concerto in G major for Two Guitars, RV. 532

Johann Sigismund Weiss (1690-1737): Concerto in Am

In collaboration (Quartet):

Jordan Nobles: Temporal Waves*

John Oliver: Prismophony*

Jacob ter Veldhuis: Jesus is Coming

Stephen Goss: Under Milkwood Variations