An Evening in Vienna with Douglas Hensley

An Evening in Vienna

Date/Time: Sunday, November 22nd, 2009, 2:00 PM
Tickets: Adult: $15 adv., $20 door
Child: $free adv., $5 door
Tickets available by calling (250) 748-8383
Location: St. Michael’s & All Angels Anglican Church, Mill Street, Chemainus

The Continuum Consort

Elizabeth MacIsaac, voice
Douglas Hensley, guitar
Anna Atkinson, viola
Emily Nagelbach, flute
Molly Janz, violin

Musik in Wien”, or Music From Vienna, is concert to the St. Michael’s Presents Series. The program is sure to please all lovers of German Romantic music.

The Continuum Consort was formed in 1998 by Elizabeth MacIsaac and Douglas Hensley as an outlet for their collective interest in a wide span of art music for voice and plucked string instruments. The members of the Consort have always been active in commissioning and performing new works. In 2003, the Canada Council for the Arts awarded the Continuum Consort a grant to commission a work for voice and archlute from Calgary composer John Abram. In November 2003, the Consort produced a program of 20th and 21st century music entitled “Eastern Echoes”, which included a world premiere as well as a number of Canadian premieres, by composers from the US, Korea, Scotland, Sweden, Japan and Canada. In August 2004, flautist Paolo Bortolussi and violist Kay Cochran joined the Consort in the world premiere of six works written for the Consort by members of Delos, a group of Korean women composers. In January 2006, they were awarded a grant from the BC Arts Council to commission a quartet from Vancouver composer Dorothy Chang, which received its premiere at the Pan Music Festival in Seoul, Korea in October 2006. In June of 2007 Emily Nagelbach (flute and alto flute) and Anna Atkinson (viola) joined the Consort to produce “Echoes of Dreams,” a programme of contemporary art music by women composers from Korea (members of Delos) and Canada (British Columbia), which was performed in Seoul, Korea and Victoria, B.C.

More Info: Andrea Kross